MELAKA – Melaka Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Idris Haron will defend the Sungai Udang state seat in the 14th general election (GE14).

When announcing the Melaka BN candidates at an event in Ayer Keroh here today, Idris, who is also Melaka Chief Minister, also announced that Puteri UMNO chief Datuk Mas Emieyati Samsuddin would defend the Masjid Tanah parliamentary seat.

Former Melaka chief minister Tan Sri Mohd Ali Rustam was renominated to contest in the Hang Tuah Jaya (previously known as Bukit Katil prior to redelineation of electoral boundaries) parliamentary seat where he lost the seat with a majority of 5,447 votes in the previous general election.

Meanwhile, Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah switched from Tangga Batu parliamentary seat to Paya Rumput state seat, and Melaka UMNO youth chief Datuk Zali Mat Yasin will be fielded in his place.

Idris also announced that Melaka MCA chairman Lim Ban Hong would defend the Klebang state seat, while Melaka MIC secretary Datuk P. Panirchelvam would be fielded at the Gadek state seat to replace former Melaka MIC chairman Datuk M.S Mahadevan whose name was dropped from the state list for GE14.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.