Undi18 Sarawak state election polls Dr. Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar. Undi18 voters Election Commission
Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar

By Manzaidi Mohd Amin

KUALA LUMPUR – The Election Commission (EC) is in its final stage of implementing the automatic voters registration and the registration of minimum voters age of 18 years-old.

Minister at Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law), Datuk Seri Dr. Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said that the processes are scheduled to be implemented before 31 December, in line with the decision by the Cabinet Ministers Meeting.

He said, the EC has amended the Elections (Registration of Electors) Regulations 2002 and other relevant laws, preparing SOP, systems and infrastructure.

“EC has made a presentation at the Ministers, Menteri Besar and Chief Ministers Meeting on 23 November.

“All Menteri Besar and Chief Ministers have agreed to amend their State Laws to enable individuals aged 18 years and above to become candidates for general election, state election and by-election,” he said during the Minister Question and Answer Time at the Parliament today.

On the latest status of the Transformation and Political Stability Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and the things agreed between the government and Pakatan Harapan (PH), he said, a meeting with political party leaders will be held in December.

According to Wan Junaidi, the meeting would be held to gain opinion of the government’s stand on the anti-party hopping law.

He said, a survey was carried out by his department to get the opinion from the Members of Parliament and civilians on the anti-party hopping law.

According to him, the public and Members of Parliament may answer the survey from 23 November until 7 December 2022 and he hoped that the result from the studies would be able to help the government in gauging the anti-party hopping law.

“The Transformation and Political Stability Steering Committee has been briefed by the Attorney-General on 24 November.

“A Bill has been drafted, but, we are still unable to answer many questions on the policy. Therefore, a Technical Committee has been set up. The committee comprises of three members from the opposition and three members from the government to study those questions. The framework has an embargo status,” he said. -MalaysiaGazette