Special Independent Committee on Emergency 2021 Former Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria. PIX: SAFWAN MANSOR / MalaysiaGazette / 13 MARCH 2017
Former Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria. PIX: SAFWAN MANSOR / MalaysiaGazette / 13 MARCH 2017

KUALA LUMPUR – The Prime Minister Department announced the appointment of the Special Independent Committee on Emergency 2021 who will be advising the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Sultan Ahmad Shah Al-Musta’in Billah on matters pertaining the proclamation of emergency.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong has given his consent on the appointment of the following committee members:

  1. Tun Arifin Zakaria, former Chief Justice – Chairman
  2. Tan Sri Samsudin Osman, former Chief Secretary to the Government
  3. Tan Sri Norian Mai, former Inspector-General
  4. Tan Sri Zulkifli Zainal Abidin, former General of the Malaysian Armed Forces
  5. Tan Sri Dr. Mohamad Taha Arif, former Director-General of Health
  6. Tan Sri Dr. Yahya Awang, cardiothoracic surgeon
  7. Tan Sri Ter Leong Yap, President of the Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia (ACCCIM)
  8. Tan Sri Dr. R. Palan, Pro-Chancellor of the University of Cyberjaya
  9. Dato’ Setia Sallehuddin Saidin, former Deputy Public Prosecutor of Attorney-General’s Chamber
  10. Prof. Dato’ Arif Perkasa Dr. Mohd. Asri Zainul Abidin the Mufti of Perlis
  11. Datu Dr. Andrew Kiyu Dawi anak Usop, public health expert
  12. Tan Sri Sukarti Wakiman, former Chief Secretary of Sabah
  13. Tan Sri Noh Omar, Member of Parliament of Tanjung Karang
  14. YB Datuk Sri Rohani Abdul Karim, Member of Parliament of Batang Lupar
  15. YB Datuk Azizah Mohd. Dun, Member of Parliament of Beaufort
  16. YB Dr. Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh, Member of Parliament of Pasir Puteh
  17. YB Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, Member of Parliament of Kulim-Bandar Baharu
  18. YB Anthony Loke Siew Fook, Member of Parliament of Seremban
  19. YB Datuk Seri Dr. Dzulkefly Ahmad, Member of Parliament of Kuala Selangor

According to the Prime Minister’s Office, the special committee is set-up under Section 2 of the Emergency Ordinance (Essential Powers) 2021 to advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on the continuity and ending of the Emergency in Malaysia.

He said, the National Security Council (MKN) and the Prime Minister’s Department will function as the secretariat of the committee. –MalaysiaGazette