PM9 Conference of Malay Rulers Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob Anwar Ibrahim

By Manzaidi Mohd Amin

KUALA LUMPUR – Yang di-Pertuan Agong has compiled the statutory declarations (SD) from 220 Members of Parliament yesterday on their nomination for the ninth Prime Minister of Malaysia (PM9).

Each of them have stated their support for either Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob from Barisan Nasional (BN) or Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim from Pakatan Harapan (PH).

His Majesty had a virtual conference with those without majority, meanwhile, those with majority had an audience with Al-Sultan Abdullah at Istana Negara earlier.

According to an unofficial information not issued by the Istana Negara, Ismail Sabri had 114 votes, meanwhile, Anwar got 106 votes from the Members of Parliament (MPs).

However, Yang di-Pertuan Agong will bring the result to the Malay Rulers Council Conference today.

The Malay Rulers will give their opinion, if they should appoint the Prime Minister with the majority support or the otherwise after taking into consideration of all aspects and current political situation.

However, rumours are circulating that His Majesty will announce the name of Prime Minister who got the majority support later after he got the opinion and advice from the other Malay Rulers.

The political crisis in Malaysia reached it climax on 7 July after 15 out of 42 MPs from BN (UMNO) withdrew their support towards the eight Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin with immediate effect.

Following that, the Perikatan Nasional (PN) government led by Muhyiddin, who is also the President of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) has lost its majority and placed his government in an unstable position.

On 16 August 2021, Muhyiddin had an audience with Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara and tendered his resignation letter as the Prime Minister. He was then appointed as the caretaker PM while a new PM is appointed.

The President of UMNO Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has given seven reasons why he, along with 14 other MPs from UMNO decided to stop supporting Muhyiddin.

Among the reasons include, the PN government had allegedly failed to handle the Covid-19 pandemic, misused the Proclamation of Emergency, failed to practice the Parliamentary democracy, failed in helping the people in accrued moratorium, failed in providing confidence to the people and caused the increment of social problems such as suicide cases.

He also said that PN failed to stabilise the government and country causing foreign investors to withdraw their investments and blamed the government’s attitude towards the Monarchy Institution.

Therefore, UMNO, with the exception of three MPs from MCA and MIC decided to leave PN and wish form a new government. – MalaysiaGazette

Read More:

Anwar, sole candidate from opposition – Shafie

Hamzah, Annuar meet Muhyiddin at Bukit Damansara

New PM must motion for confidence vote soonest ASAP – Agong

Malay Rulers to meet this Friday

All political parties reach consensus for new political chapter – Anwar

Zahid makes peace with Ismail Sabri?

Party leaders have audience with Agong

PAS rejects kleptocrats

Speaker requests MPs to nominate a PM

May new PM be appointed according to Constitution – Muhyiddin

Resignation will not disrupt vaccination programme – Muhyiddin

Agong accepts Muhyiddin, Cabinet’s resignation, appoints Muhyiddin as caretaker PM

Cabinet resignation: Collective responsibility, not guilt – Takiyuddin

Annuar apologises, pray for wellbeing of residents in Federal Territories

Cabinet resigns, God bless Malaysia – KJ

UMNO Youth suggests for Interim Unity Government

Muhyiddin expected to make special announcement today

No MP has the majority support – Muhyiddin

PM seeks bipartisan support

Muhyiddin still commands majority support, no reason to resign

Muhyiddin ready to face any possibility in Dewan Rakyat this September

31 BN MPs maintain support for PN – Ismail Sabri

They’re displeased with my refusal to meddle with court decision – PM

Muhyiddin loses majority – Zahid